CITY OF NORTH LAS VEGAS SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

JULY 5, 2007

Website - http://www.cityofnorthlasvegas.com

CALL TO ORDER

4:35 P.M., Council Chambers, 2200 Civic Center Drive, North Las Vegas, Nevada

ROLL CALL

COUNCIL PRESENT

Mayor Michael L. Montandon Mayor Pro Tempore William E. Robinson Councilwoman Stephanie S. Smith Councilwoman Shari Buck Councilman Robert L. Eliason

STAFF PRESENT

City Manager Gregory Rose
Assistant City Manager Sam Chambers
Assistant City Manager Maryann Ustick
City Attorney Carie Torrence
City Clerk Karen L. Storms
Communications Director Brenda Fischer
Economic Development Director Mike Majewski
Assistant Finance Director Kay Godbey
Fire Chief Al Gillespie
General Services Director Eric Dabney
Information Technology Director Steve Chapin
Planning and Zoning Director Jory Stewart
Police Chief Mark Paresi
Assistant to the City Manager Michelle Bailey-Hedgepeth

VERIFICATION

Karen L. Storms, CMC City Clerk

INVOCATION

Bishop James M. Rogers, Sr.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mayor Montandon

PRESENTATION OF THE COLORS

North Las Vegas Honor Guard

BUSINESS

1. SWEARING IN CEREMONY FOR CITY COUNCIL MEMBER WARD 2 AND CITY **COUNCIL MEMBER WARD 4.**

North Las Vegas Municipal Court Judge Stephen Dahl administered the Oaths of Office to Councilman Robinson.

Senator Brian said Councilman Robinson had helped transform the City of North Las Vegas during his 24 years of service as the City grew in population from under 50,000 to over 200,000. Councilman Robinson thanked his family, supporters, and Council.

North Las Vegas Municipal Court Judge Stephen Dahl administered the Oath of Office to Councilwoman Buck. Councilwoman Buck thanked her family and Staff. She spoke of the greatness of the City.

Representatives of government offices congratulated the Councilmembers. Councilmembers Smith and Eliason congratulated their colleagues and were pleased their working relationships would continue.

COUNCILMAN WILLIAM ROBINSON AND COUNCILWOMAN SHARI BUCK ACTION:

SWORN IN

City Clerk

PUBLIC FORUM

Members of the public, including Sylvia Spencer Brown, Ray Clark of the National Urban League, former Councilman Theron Goynes, Joanna Wesley, and William Robinson Jr. thanked the Councilmembers.

	<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>
ACTION:	THE MEETING ADJOURNED AT 5:04 P.M.
MOTION: SECOND: AYES: NAYS: ABSTAIN:	Mayor Montandon Councilman Eliason Mayor Montandon, Mayor Pro Tempore Robinson, Councilmembers Smith, Buck and Eliason None None
	APPROVED: August 15, 2007
	Mayor Michael Montandon
ATTEST: Karen L. Sto	rms. CMC